We are all made up of energy. Ancient cultures all believed that all living things carried a life force energy within them.

Traditional Chinese medicine refers to it as Chi, which means vital life force 

 Ayurvedic medicine refers to it as Prana

The Japanese have something called Reiki-  Rei  means universal Ki means energy.

A Reiki practitioner harnesses and channels the universal lifeforce healing energy through a holistic hands-on healing technique that helps the body to heal itself. The origin of Reiki can be traced back to ancient Tibet, thousands of years ago. It was then re-discovered in the mid 1800’s by Dr. Mikao Usui of Japan.  It’s a gentle, non-invasive technique that promotes relaxation and stress reduction. The practitioner guides their hands along the body, sometime a few inches off of the body, to scan for any feeling of blockages in the body. The practitioner is very in tune to this and can feel heat or sometimes coolness and will just hold their hands in that spot as long as their intuition tells them it is needed. The hands become hot as the energy flows through the practitioner’s hands.  A treatment usually last between 30 and 60 minutes. It can be a deeply transformative experience as it puts you into a meditative state and some people feel as if they are floating or see all kinds of colors. It brings your body into balance, harmony and wholeness, which is necessary to achieve optimal health and wellness. It also provides a sense of emotional well-being as well as physical.

When a person’s Chi or energy is out of balance and blocked, it creates disease, pain and even emotional suffering.  Performing Reiki on the energy blockage helps the energy to start flowing properly again.  Reiki works with the body’s natural system to enhance healing and regenerative capabilities and to strengthen the immune system by gently re-aligning the person’s energetic function.

“Chakra” is a Sanskrit word that means wheel. It is believed that we all have 7 chakras, or wheels, of energy centers spinning within us at all times, starting at the base of the spine all the way up to the top of the head. Each possessing its own color and vibrational frequency.

1st is the Root Chakra –  Red – deals with being grounded, security, survival, prosperity

2nd – Sacral – Orange – Sexuality, Open Expression, Creativity,Intimacy, Friendships

3rd – Solar Plexus – Yellow – Will Power, Self-Esteem, Confidence, Ability to Accept Others

4th – Heart – Green – Unconditional love, Compassion, Healing, Trust, Harmony

5th – Throat – Blue – Communication, Expression, Independence, Ability to speak your truth

6th- Third Eye – Indigo- Higher Mind, Conscious Perception, Dreams, Intuition and Intellect

7th – Crown – Violet – Self-Realization, Human Perfection, Awareness of Eternal Self, Spirituality

5 Effects of Reiki

  • Brings deep relaxation
  • Dissolves energy blockages and vitalizes the Chakra centers
  • Detoxifies
  • Supplies healing universal life-force energy
  • Increases the vibrational frequency of the body

Follow me on Instagram @Holisticlivingwithkaren to sign up for my free Distant Reiki healing sessions!